/ Books / Subjects / Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Books / Literature & Fiction / Genre Fiction / Literary

Speak No Evil

by Uzodinma Iweala

Loading offers...

Buy on Amazon
Product Description

"A lovely slender volume that packs in entire worlds with complete mastery. Speak No Evil explains so much about our times and yet is never anything less than a scintillating, page-turning read."—Gary Shteyngart

"A wrenching, tightly woven story about many kinds of love and many kinds of violence. Speak No Evil probes deeply but also with compassion the cruelties of a loving home. Iweala’s characters confront you in close-up, as viscerally, bodily alive as any in contemporary fiction."—Larissa MacFarquhar

In the long-anticipated novel from the author of the critically acclaimed Beasts of No Nation, a revelation shared between two privileged teenagers from very different backgrounds sets off a chain of events with devastating consequences.

On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, D.C., he’s a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard in the fall, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer—an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except Meredith, his best friend, the daughter of prominent Washington insiders—and the one person who seems not to judge him.

When his father accidentally discovers Niru is gay, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding toward a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed.

In the tradition of Junot Diaz’s The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Americanah, Speak No Evil explores what it means to be different in a fundamentally conformist society and how that difference plays out in our inner and outer struggles. It is a novel about the power of words and self-identification, about who gets to speak and who has the power to speak for other people. As heart-wrenching and timely as his breakout debut, Beasts of No Nation, Uzodinma Iweala’s second novel cuts to the core of our humanity and leaves us reeling in its wake.

A 2018 Indie Next Pick | One of The Millions’ Most Anticipated Books of 2018 | One of Bustle’s 35 Most Anticipated Fiction Books Of 2018 | One of Paste's 25 Most Anticipated Books of 2018 | One of The Boston Globe’s 25 Books We Can’t Wait to Read in 2018

ASIN B071YRW88J
Amazon Sales Rank 102,067
Released 03/06/2018
Main Category Kindle Edition
Group eBooks
Publisher Harper
Studio Harper
Manufacturer Harper
Language(s) English (Published)
Adult Product? No

Similar Products

Beasts of No Nation: A Novel (P.S.)

The Sparsholt Affair

Girls Burn Brighter: A Novel

The House of Broken Angels

Some Hell: A Novel

Laura & Emma

The Gunners: A Novel

The House of Impossible Beauties: A Novel

The Mars Room: A Novel

Stray City: A Novel

Reviews

Loading reviews...

Best Sellers

Loading...

Tags

Literary Price ComparisonCompare Prices on Literary Compare Product Reviews on Literary Literary Product Reviews Compare Product Reviews on Teen & Young AdultCompare Prices on Teen & Young Adult Teen & Young Adult Product Reviews Teen & Young Adult Price Comparison Gay Fiction Price Comparison Gay Fiction Product ReviewsCompare Prices on Gay Fiction Compare Product Reviews on Gay Fiction Compare Product Reviews on LGBT LGBT Product ReviewsCompare Prices on LGBT LGBT Price Comparison Literary Price Comparison Literary Product ReviewsCompare Prices on Literary Compare Product Reviews on Literary Contemporary Fiction Price Comparison Contemporary Fiction Product Reviews Compare Product Reviews on Contemporary FictionCompare Prices on Contemporary Fiction Compare Product Reviews on African American African American Price ComparisonCompare Prices on African American African American Product Reviews African American Product Reviews African American Price Comparison Compare Product Reviews on African AmericanCompare Prices on African American