/ Books / Subjects / Literature & Fiction / Genre Fiction / Historical / Cultural Heritage

The City of Brass: A Novel (The Daevabad Trilogy)

by S. A. Chakraborty

Loading offers...

Buy on Amazon
 
Product Description

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Library Journal | Vulture | The Verge | SYFYWire

Step into The City of Brass, the spellbinding debut from S. A. Chakraborty perfect for fans of The Golem and the Jinni, The Grace of Kings, and Uprooted, in which the future of a magical Middle Eastern kingdom rests in the hands of a clever and defiant young con artist with miraculous healing gifts.

On the streets of eighteenth-century Cairo, Nahri is a con woman of unsurpassed skill. She makes her living swindling Ottoman nobles, hoping to one day earn enough to change her fortunes. But when Nahri accidentally summons Dara, an equally sly, darkly mysterious djinn warrior, during one of her cons, she learns that even the cleverest of schemes can have deadly consequences.

Forced to flee Cairo, Dara and Nahri journey together across hot, windswept sands teeming with creatures of fire and rivers where the mythical marid sleep, past ruins of once-magnificent human metropolises and mountains where the circling birds of prey are more than what they seem, to Daevabad, the legendary city of brass.

It?s a city steeped in magic and fire, where blood can be as dangerous as any spell; a city where old resentments run deep and the royal court rules with a tenuous grip; a city to which Nahri is irrevocably bound?and where her very presence threatens to ignite a war that has been simmering for centuries.

*Finalist for the World Fantasy Award: Best Novel

*Nominated for the Locus Award: Best First Novel

*Finalist for the British Fantasy Award: Best Newcomer

Featuring a stepback and extra content including a bonus scene and an excerpt from The Kingdom of Copper.

Amazon.com Review

An Amazon Best Book of November 2017: George R. R. Martin?s Game of Thrones meets Naomi Novik?s Uprooted in this marvelous debut fantasy about a young con artist from 18th century Cairo who learns that her mysterious parentage?and her ability to work small magics?might be connected to the nearly forgotten legends of the djinn, Suleiman the Magnificent, and the mysterious brass city of Daevabad. When Nahri accidentally summons Dara, a djinn warrior with a long and bloody past, she plunges both of them into the brewing animosity among the ancient djinn tribes united only by their disdain for their half-human offspring, who have few rights in the djinn stronghold of Daevabad. But not all djinn think the half-humans should be persecuted. Alizayd, the djinn king?s second son, works in the shadows to right wrongs even as surging tensions birth battles in the streets. Deep and gorgeous world building plus the political plot corkscrews caused me to happily ruminate on this book and its characters weeks after I finished it. I have a few quibbles?Nahri doesn?t have as much to do in the second half as in the first?but Chakraborty?s heck of a finale was both a surprise and felt completely right?and left me quivering with anticipation for the second book in the trilogy. ?Adrian Liang, The Amazon Book Review

Product Description

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Library Journal | Vulture | The Verge | SYFYWire

Step into The City of Brass, the spellbinding debut from S. A. Chakraborty perfect for fans of The Golem and the Jinni, The Grace of Kings, and Uprooted, in which the future of a magical Middle Eastern kingdom rests in the hands of a clever and defiant young con artist with miraculous healing gifts.

On the streets of eighteenth-century Cairo, Nahri is a con woman of unsurpassed skill. She makes her living swindling Ottoman nobles, hoping to one day earn enough to change her fortunes. But when Nahri accidentally summons Dara, an equally sly, darkly mysterious djinn warrior, during one of her cons, she learns that even the cleverest of schemes can have deadly consequences.

Forced to flee Cairo, Dara and Nahri journey together across hot, windswept sands teeming with creatures of fire and rivers where the mythical marid sleep, past ruins of once-magnificent human metropolises and mountains where the circling birds of prey are more than what they seem, to Daevabad, the legendary city of brass.

It?s a city steeped in magic and fire, where blood can be as dangerous as any spell; a city where old resentments run deep and the royal court rules with a tenuous grip; a city to which Nahri is irrevocably bound?and where her very presence threatens to ignite a war that has been simmering for centuries.

*Finalist for the World Fantasy Award: Best Novel

*Nominated for the Locus Award: Best First Novel

*Finalist for the British Fantasy Award: Best Newcomer

Featuring a stepback and extra content including a bonus scene and an excerpt from The Kingdom of Copper.

ASIN B06VXWPMV5
Amazon Sales Rank 17,369
Main Category Kindle Edition
Group eBooks
Publisher Harper Voyager
Studio Harper Voyager
Manufacturer Harper Voyager
Language(s) English (Published)
Adult Product? No
 

Similar Products

The Kingdom of Copper: A Novel (The Daevabad Trilogy Book 2)

The Winter of the Witch: A Novel (Winternight Trilogy Book 3)

The Girl in the Tower: A Novel (Winternight Trilogy Book 2)

 

Empire of Sand (The Books of Ambha)

The Last Namsara (Iskari Book 1)

The Bear and the Nightingale: A Novel (Winternight Trilogy Book 1)

 

Foundryside: A Novel (The Founders Trilogy Book 1)

The Traitor Baru Cormorant (The Masquerade Book 1)

Uprooted

 

Spinning Silver: A Novel

 

Reviews

Loading reviews...

Amazon

Loading...

Best Sellers

Loading...

Tags

Fantasy Product Reviews Fantasy Price ComparisonCompare Prices on Fantasy Compare Product Reviews on Fantasy Fantasy Product Reviews Fantasy Price ComparisonCompare Prices on Fantasy Compare Product Reviews on Fantasy Historical Price Comparison Historical Product Reviews Compare Product Reviews on HistoricalCompare Prices on Historical Epic Product Reviews Compare Product Reviews on Epic Epic Price ComparisonCompare Prices on Epic Compare Product Reviews on Cultural Heritage Cultural Heritage Price ComparisonCompare Prices on Cultural Heritage Cultural Heritage Product Reviews Fantasy Product ReviewsCompare Prices on Fantasy Fantasy Price Comparison Compare Product Reviews on Fantasy Compare Prices on Teen & Young Adult Compare Product Reviews on Teen & Young Adult Teen & Young Adult Product Reviews Teen & Young Adult Price Comparison Compare Prices on United States Compare Product Reviews on United States United States Price Comparison United States Product Reviews